fromthebirdcage

I am accomplished because I have a husband who isn’t hindered by what we don’t know how to do- a lesson I could have let fear keep me from learning, but didn’t.

“….But I don’t know how.”

Words that could define me, should define me, kind of do define me……but never stop me.  I think I spent the majority of my life letting them decide my future.  I didn’t play soccer as a kid because I didn’t know how.  I didn’t take up guitar because I didn’t know how.  Can’t speak Spanish….yup, didn’t know how.

Obsession-Finishedweb

The first time that I have ever truly given into my fears of not having a clue what I’m doing and attacking them head on was when I tried out for roller derby without really knowing how to skate…or even truly what roller derby was.  That experience in my life was where I discovered that I had a lot more power over what I can and can’t accomplish than I ever realized.

But it was meeting my husband, Gabe, that really made me put myself into situations where I had absolutely no clue what I was doing and then spend all of my time learning how to do it….and then discovering I was surprisingly good at a lot more things than I ever gave myself credit for.

Gabe has a room full of instruments, a workshop full of tools and a computer full of software.  None of which he has ever “officially learned” how to use, but all of which he has taught himself to create masterpieces with.  I’ve never heard him say, “but I don’t know how.”  I don’t think those words are in his vocabulary. If he doesn’t know how, he dives in learning from whatever sources he can find.

gabe trumpetgabe trumpet 2

When he started learning video, it was like the flood gates of magic had opened for him.  He has an insane ability to see things from an artistic angle and you should probably run away if you see him staring at you for too long…chances are, he’s got a brilliant idea about to emerge and you’ll end up featured in your own full length movie before you know it. But a year ago, he didn’t have the first idea how to begin a video.  His devotion to learning, improving and proving to himself that he can do absolutely anything he wants to do is infectious.

He is the reason I spent 15 years as a photographer without having much clue about what I was doing and the past 4 years learning and refining at every opportunity.  He’s the reason I’m about to start learning to play the trumpet.

I found out through him that if I never tried……I would never know how.

I’m so grateful to him for learning the way he learns and putting together this beautiful episode for The Framed Network that not only covers how we plan an execute our shoots, but also features the most important thing we believe in as photographers…..other photographers. Nothing gives me the desire to create and learn things I never would have learned before as much as learning from and working with other creative people.

Like us on Facebook here:  Bonnie and Gabe on Facebook. Or find more of our work at www.twocreativebirds.com and our fine art site at www.bonniealrifai.com. 

2 comments

  1. This is really fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and sit up for seeking extra of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

